Second Chance to Live

Sharing Hope in the Face of Adversity — One Piece at a Time

Accomplishing Goals and Baking Cakes Part 1

Posted by Second Chance to Live on February 22, 2011

Hello and welcome back to Second Chance to Live my friend. In my last several articles I have shared with you that we can achieve huge milestones with our lives, despite societal stigma and our apparent limitations. In today’s article, I want to share some thing with you that I have learned through my process. The visual analogy has helped me with the experience of achieving milestones in my life.

Approximately 10 years ago, when I started training at a martial arts school I had a conversation with my Sensei – instructor. What he shared with me during that 5 minute conversation has stuck with me over the years. He said, “Becoming a black belt is like baking a cake.” He said, “What I do is give you the ingredients to bake that cake. Your job is to bake the cake.”

Although my Sensei was referring to the process of becoming a black belt, the principle of baking a cake can be used whenever I set out to accomplish a goal or achieve a milestone in my life.

Consequently, I realize that whenever I want to accomplish a goal or achieve a milestone – in my life – I need to gather the right ingredients (have specific objectives). Once I have the ingredients, I need to devise a plan that will enable my ability to mix the ingredients together. I then need to apply time and energy into the process of mixing the ingredients together before I am able to bake my cake…

accomplish a goal or achieve a milestone in my life.

Please read Part 2 of this article. Thank you.

Receive more articles like this one simply by clicking on Subscribe to Second Chance to Live by email

Bookmark and read articles from Second Chance to Live in a Feed Reader by clicking on the following links:

Bookmark Second Chance to Live

Subscribe in a reader

All material presented on Second Chance to Live is copyright and cannot be, copied, reproduced, or distributed in any way without the express, written consent of Craig J. Phillips, MRC, BA Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-NoDerivs CC BY-NC- ND

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

