Second Chance to Live

Sharing Hope in the Face of Adversity — One Piece at a Time

Second Chance to Live and Peer Support

Posted by Second Chance to Live on January 20, 2013

Hello and welcome back to Second Chance to Live. I am happy to see that you decided to stop by to visit with me. Thank you. Today I feel led to write about a topic that is very much a part of what Second Chance to Live seeks to provide; peer support through the power of identification.

I have found and believe that there is tremendous power in identification.

Identification lays the foundation for effective peer support. Identification transcends the mind’s ability to comprehend. Identification moves beyond the cerebral to the emotive. Identification hears what only the heart and soul can comprehend. Identification ushers the individual across the bridge called hope. 

One of the main reasons I created  Second Chance to Live was to share from my own experience, strength and hope through the power of identification. Shortly after creating Second Chance to Live nearly 6 years ago I wrote an article to share the foundation upon which I would write articles and later begin creating video presentations.

The article, My Focus. Below is an excerpt from that article. Second Chance to Live provides peer support through the power of identification in articles and video presentations.

Identification as opposed to Comparison

Identification empowers, where as comparison minimizes contribution. Comparison asserts stipulation to inclusion. Comparison mandates that certain criteria be met. Comparison predicates acceptance. Comparison demands compliance. Comparison postulates performance. Comparison shuns that which is different. Identification encourages progress while comparison specifies and expects outcomes. Identification celebrates small successes, whereas comparison, by its nature seeks to invalidate. Identification encourages individuality and motivates self-expression. Identification cultivates creativity.

Individuality is not considered a threat. Status quo is dismissed. Identification empowers and motivates. Identification musters enthusiasm in the face of any discouragement. Identification breaks down the walls of isolation. Alienation is dismissed. Eccentricity is held in esteem. Self-respect, self-esteem, and self-worth no longer need to be qualified. Value and ability is accepted at face value. Identification seeks to reconcile. Identification promotes humility.

As I seek to identify with others I practice love and tolerance. Identification frees my humanity to explore apart from comparison’s dictates. Identification encourages individual expression. Identification encourages hope, where as comparison predicates performance. Identification encourages process. Identification promotes self-confidence. Progress is accepted as a function of seeking to accept both others and one self. As I love and accept myself, I am free to create with my being.

My being and worth is not tied to a specific “toy” or outcome. I no longer need to keep up with the Jones. I no longer need to chase after external validation. Identifying with others dispels my need to judge. Identification gives me permission to take risks and to scrape my knees in the process. Identification promotes excellence, not perfection. Identification frees me to stay in the moment and to live life on life’s terms. Identification promotes unity.

Articles and video presentations can be found in my 2 different Site Maps. Site Map for my Articles http://wp.me/P3atD-1H and a Site Map for my You Tube Video Presentations http://wp.me/P3atD-3B3. Currently I have 1027 articles and 115 video presentations in my respective Site Maps.

In the event that you would like to be in touch with me, please use my Contact Page. I look forward to hearing from you. All questions are good questions.

Receive more articles like this one simply by clicking on Subscribe to Second Chance to Live by email

Bookmark and read articles from Second Chance to Live in a Feed Reader by clicking on the following links:

Bookmark Second Chance to Live

Subscribe in a reader

All material presented on Second Chance to Live is copyright and cannot be, copied, reproduced, or distributed in any way without the express, written consent of Craig J. Phillips, MRC, BA Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-NoDerivs CC BY-NC- ND

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

