Second Chance to Live

Sharing Hope in the Face of Adversity — One Piece at a Time

Traumatic Brain Injury, Labeling Theory and Societal Stigmatization Part 1

Posted by Second Chance to Live on July 8, 2013

Hello and welcome back to Second Chance to Live. I am happy to see that you decided to stop by to visit with me. Thank you. I have been thinking about some thing that I would like to share with you. When I was attending junior college many years ago one of the courses that I enrolled in and attended was Sociology. The course was an elective and a pre-requisite. I am glad that I had the opportunity to attend the classes and learn from the course.

The study of Sociology gives insights into how various factors impact society such as race, ethnicity, gender, age, education, and social class that affect work and how organizations run. During the course of my studies in that class I discovered some thing that has stayed with me for long after completing the class in Sociology. What I discovered was the impact of what I heard described as, “labeling theory”. According to Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia:

Labeling theory holds that deviance is not inherent to an act, but instead focuses on the tendency of majorities to negatively label minorities or those seen as deviant from standard cultural norms…including terms related to deviance, disability or diagnosis of a mental disorder… The theory is concerned with how the self-identity and behavior of individuals may be determined or influenced by the terms used to describe or classify them. It is associated with the concepts of of self-fulfilling prophecy and  stereotypingA stigma is defined as a powerfully negative label that changes a person’s self-concept and social identity”.

Such labeling and stereotyping leads to a stigmatization of the individual. Through my studies and experience as a counselor I have seen the negative impact that such stigmatization has upon the individual. In my experience, as noted; once a determination, diagnosis or label is given or assigned to the individual, the determination, diagnosis or label many times – consciously or unconsciously — becomes the identity of the individual. I have also noted that as the individual adopts the identity of the label as their identity they unknowingly become vulnerable to being victimized by the identify of the label by believing in the stigmatization. The internalization of the label and stigmatization then makes the individual susceptible to being controlled.

In the process, the individual — many times — unknowingly relinquishes their own unique creative identify for the identity of the determination, diagnosis or stereotype.

As a traumatic brain injury survivor, I found myself labeled and stereotyped by professionals and in social settings. The impact of these labels and subsequent opinions left me feeling stigmatized, minimized and marginalized. Unknowingly, I found myself relegated to a category of damaged goods. Like a damaged or tattered toy that was no longer of any use, I found myself tossed into a box with other toys and left to believe that I was no longer of any real value. But thank God that was not the end of the story. Through my process, I came to realize what stigmatization, minimization and marginalization led me to believe was an insidious lie.  

“Regardless of your lot in life, you can build something beautiful on it.” Zig Ziglar  

Please read Part 2 of this article as Part 2 builds upon Part 1. To read Part 2 of this article, please click on this link. Thank you. Traumatic Brain Injury, Labeling Theory and Societal Stigmatization Part 2

As you read this series and questions come to mind, please send those questions to me. All questions are good question. In the event that you would like to leave a comment, I would love to hear from you. You may sent a question or leave a comment by clicking on this link: Contact Page.

Receive more articles like this one simply by clicking on  Subscribe to Second Chance to Live by email.

Bookmark and Share Second Chance to Live with your friend  Subscribe in a Feed Reader

All material presented on Second Chance to Live is copyright and cannot be, copied, reproduced, or distributed in any way without the express, written consent of Craig J. Phillips, MRC, BA Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs CC BY-NC-ND

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers

