Second Chance to Live

Sharing Hope in the Face of Adversity — One Piece at a Time

Back Story of Second Chance to Live Part 1

Posted by Second Chance to Live on September 24, 2013

Hello and welcome back to Second Chance to Live my friend. I am happy to see that you decided to stop by to visit with me. Thank you. I do not believe I ever shared the back story and development of Second Chance to Live since I created Second Chance to Live on February 6, 2007. I feel led to share this information with you to encourage you to commit to your dreams and your destiny, whatever that entails. For many years I felt like some one all dressed up with no where to go – although I diligently applied myself to my studies and seeking to apply what I had learned in my vocational / employment endeavors.

As I shared in my series, My Journey thus Far I had a long history of getting and losing jobs despite my best efforts. While a counselor with the Department of Vocational Rehabilitation, I was made a client. That outcome did not result in a suitable job placement. After being fired from several more jobs, I was recruited to North Carolina to begin a job, which I was fired from 4 months later. Following that firing and an unsuccessful job search, I reapplied with the DVR here in North Carolina. After completing the evaluation and testing process I was deemed to be unemployable by the Department of Vocational Rehabilitation.

Soon there after, my 3rd application was approved by the Social Security Administration. Although I had been declared unemployable and disabled, I still desired to use what I had to give to people who wanted what I had to give. I wrote a collection of poems and a series of articles. After receiving some back pay, a friend of mine helped me to purchase a computer and I began to discover the world of dial-up technology. During the next 3-4 years the computer manufacture rebuilt 2 computers one piece at a time through my using 1st, 2nd and 3rd level tier technical support through several dial-up (not cable or dsl) companies.

With my use of the computer, I started to input my poems and articles onto the 1st computer’s hard drive and then re-enter the data of my poems and articles onto the 2nd computer hard drive. I learned from my experience to store data on an external hard drive and make copies of my poems and articles onto floppy and CD discs. As you might imagine I spent countless hours on and off the phone following the computer manufactures technical support recommendations. After 2 rebuilds, and much aggravation, I asked some friends if they had a computer they were no longer using. One of my friends gave me an HP computer.

Over the next 3 years I continued writing and developing as a writer. Through my process, I wrote  an autobiography and then a book – Table Topics for the Soul – Journey to the Heart. I attempted to get my book published with several publishers – after registering my book with the Library of Congress. I spent nearly $100 attempting to get my book published with out success. I continued to write and a year of so later — at the encouragement of a friend – I sought to create a weblog. After researching several blogging engines, I decided to create my weblog using WordPress.com to host Second Chance to Live.

Please make sure to read Part 2 of this article. To read Part 2 of this article, please click on this link: Back Story of Second Chance to Live Part 2

As read this article and questions come to mind, please send those questions to me. All questions are good question. In the event that you would like to leave a comment, I would love to hear from you. You may send your question (s) or a comment by clicking on this link: Contact Page.

Receive more articles like this one simply by clicking on  Subscribe to Second Chance to Live by email.

Bookmark and Share Second Chance to Live with your friend  Subscribe in a Feed Reader

All material presented on Second Chance to Live is copyright and cannot be, copied, reproduced, or distributed in any way without the express, written consent of Craig J. Phillips, MRC, BA Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs CC BY-NC-ND

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

